Hollister City Fire

Fireworks Safety Tips & General Information

What is a legal firework?

In the state of California all legal fireworks must be State Fire Marshal — Approved
which can be purchased at authorized booths. ~r11 PELLET

Legal fireworks must be labeled with the State Fire Marshal seal,
either on the device itself or on the box it came in.

Generally, legal fireworks are classified as “Safe & Sane” in the state
of California.

Some communities do not permit the sale and/or use of State —
Approved fireworks within their jurisdiction or may have other
restrictions on where and how State — Approved fireworks may be
used. In San Benito County the use and sale of State — Approved fireworks is only
allowed within the cities of Hollister and San Juan Bautista.

If you have any doubts, check with your local fire department.

How do you safely celebrate with legal fireworks?

Safety Tips:
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Always observe local laws regarding the use of fireworks.

Use only State Fire Marshal — Approved fireworks.

Use good common sense and always read and follow the directions on each firework
before using it.

Have a responsible adult present whenever fireworks are used.

Never point of throw fireworks at anyone.

Only use fireworks outdoors away from homes, dry grass, or trees. Never use fireworks
in an enclosed area.

Light only one item at a time and keep a safe distance.

Never experiment with, or alter a firework.

Never carry fireworks in your pockets.

Put used fireworks in a bucket of water and have a garden hose or fire extinguisher
nearby to extinguish flames if necessary.
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What is an illegal firework?

A good rule of thumb is if it goes up in the air, darts across the ground, or explodes, it’s
dangerous and illegal.

Some examples include:

¢ Cherry Bombs
e M-80’s and M-100’s
e Firecrackers
¢ Bottle Rockets
¢ Roman Candles
e Aerial Shells and Mortars
» Every year dangerous and illegal items such as Cherry Bombs, M-80’s and Firecrackers
cause numerous injuries to adults and children. Items such as Bottle Rockets cause
thousands of dollars in property damage each year as well.
» Parents may be held liable for any damages or injuries cause
by their children’s use of illegal fireworks.
» Possession and/or use of illegal fireworks is a misdemeanor
punishable by a fine of not less than $500 nor more than

$1,000 and/or by imprisonment in the local jail for up to one
year.

» Possession of illegal fireworks that collectively contain in
excess of 7,500 grains of power (approximately 1 pound) is
a felony punishable by imprisonment in a state prison or local
jail for up to one year and/or a fine not to exceed $5,000.

» Fire Fighter and law enforcement officials will be out looking for illegal fireworks.

» Always remember, if in doubt, call your local fire department.

What can parents do to educate their children about fireworks?

Set an example

The most important thing parents can do for their children is to set a good example. If you use
illegal fireworks, don’t be surprised when your children mimic your behavior.

Be factual

= [t is important to address the issue of illegal fireworks at a young age. If your child asks a
question about illegal fireworks, be prepared to respond simply and factually and to lay
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the groundwork for a dialogue late on. Remember, illegal fireworks are a year-round
problem, not just one that occurs around the Fourth of July.

=  When discussing illegal fireworks with children, it is always best to stress the immediate
consequences and dangers to them and the people around them.

Outside peer pressure

= To children peer pressure can be more important than any other influence outside the
family. It has a major effect on their use of dangerous activities such as illegal fireworks.

= Parents can encourage children to think for themselves, to be self-reliant and
independent, and to recongnize the times when they should do what their friends do and
the times when they should stand alone and do what they think is right.

Seek professional advice if you need it.

= If your child is engaging in activities that you are opposed to and can’t seem to control,
the best thing to do is seek professional advice immediately.

What can you do if you find illegal fireworks or know of someone who is using or selling
illegal fireworks?

o Contact your local fire department to find out if they will accept the illegal fireworks.
Hollister Fire Department will accept illegal fireworks at some of their stations. Call
ahead to find out. )

o The City of Hollister will accept illegal fireworks at Fire
Station No. 1 (110 Fifth Street) Station No. 2 (1000
Union Road) or Station 4 (24 Polk St) San Juan Bautista.

o If you witness a crime or fire in progress involving
illegal fireworks, call your local authorities by dialing
9-1-1.

o If you have information regarding the whereabouts of an
illegal fireworks operation, whether out of the trunk of a car, warehouse, or a garage you
may contact the City of Hollister 24-hour, non-emergency telephone number at (831)
636-4100 or from 8am — Spm Monday through Friday at (831) 636 — 4326.

Stay safe and have a happy Fourth of July from everyone at your local

Hollister Fire Department!




